WARNING: Your browser does not support JavaScript or JavaScript is turned off.

CEA Region 3

CEA Region III


About CEA Region III

CEA Region III consists of the following six states: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Kentucky, Ohio, and Wisconsin. Tennessee, now in CEA Region VII, was a part of Region III until the mid-1980s. Region III is one of the nine regions that make up the National CEA organization. Historically, Region III has had the highest number of memberships in CEA and its members have played a significant role in the national organization’s events and activities. Region III has hosted seven national conferences and its members have been quite active in providing assistance to other CEA regions. Region III has the distinguished honor of having 14 members proudly serve as President of the Correctional Education Association.

In the 1950s and 1960s Illinois and Indiana were prominent in hosting a National Mid-West Conferences at various Universities on Correctional Education topics. Typically Region III CEA officers attended and proved leadership roles.

However, the modern era of Region III began in 1973 with the first Regional conference held in Normal, Illinois. The first Regional Director, Bob Terhune from Ohio, presided over the conference. Since then, with the exception of 1993, Region III has participated in an annual conference, either as host or in conjunction another CEA region or related organization. For the first time in 1995, Region III joined Region IV in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, for the annual conference. Since then, cooperative conferencing has become a normal event for the Region and is a cost sharing answer to the recent Correctional Education budget restraints Regional conferences are important because the Region III Constitution requires an annual business meeting. In addition, the Regional Teacher of the Year is selected and announced during the conference. The Teacher of Year subsequently represents the region at the CEA Conference, generally held several months later.

Historically, at the national level, CEA was recognized as an independent organization at the 77th American Prison Association (APA) Congress in 1946. From 1946 through 1973 CEA held its conference inside the American Correctional Association (ACA) Congress. (APA changed its name to ACA in 1953).

It is interesting to note, that Region III hosted its first Conference a year before the National CEA first stand-alone national conference held in Lancaster, PA in 1974. For a more detailed picture of Region III’s conference history, regional directorships and Teacher of the Year selections, please see the link below. This document was created by CEA historian, Dr. Jerry McGlone with assistance from other dedicated CEA/Region III members. This should be deleted by you!

Executive Board

Complete Sitemap